An alchemists view from the bar

Network Security Alchemy

Modem handshake iPhone ringtone

with 9 comments

I was in a meeting last week with a couple of engineers when my phone went off. My normal ringtone is the  sound of a loud 56K modem handshake. Everyone in the room wanted a copy, so I though I would share it here.

The original idea for this ringtone wasn’t my own, I head it on a colleague’s Nokia ( Jim++ ). Following a bit of google / audicity / iTunes-foo, I made my own m4r. I think the result was pretty good.

WARNING – I have been using this ring-tone for about ten months, it gets you strange looks in meetings.

Download it here

Written by leonward

December 8, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Leon,

    > Following a bit of google / audicity / iTunes-foo, I made my own m4r

    Nice job!

    Currently, I’m using the “Sci-Fi” ringtone, provided with the iPhone, which has got me a few strange looks (and a few laughs).

    I’ll try your modem ringtone next – I’m sure my colleagues will find it funny 🙂

    Jon Mann

    December 11, 2008 at 4:31 pm

  2. Hey… thats my ringtone! 🙂

    Jim

    February 18, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  3. Well the idea is, hence the Jim++.

    From memory yours was a 28.8Kbps, where this is a 56K V90 (there’s a big difference, did you hear that “pong” half way through? 🙂

    leon

    February 18, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  4. Mine was a 56k v92 w/ quickconnect. I audacity-ed it up to the “good parts” 🙂

    Jim

    February 19, 2009 at 12:39 pm

  5. w00t w00t

    I just had the idea to do this but didn’t want to have to deal with the Audacity/iTunes mucking about. Gonna try it when i get home tonight.

    Tha Duffman

    September 28, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  6. downloaded and using it, thanks for the share

    Sca

    February 20, 2012 at 7:25 am

  7. Here are some more sounds like this one: http://www.modemsite.com/56k/trouble3.asp

    i42n

    February 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm

  8. #Thanks for making and sharing!

    transContext

    February 24, 2013 at 2:53 pm


Leave a Reply

