An alchemists view from the bar

Network Security Alchemy

An update on the whole “car hits house” thing.

with 4 comments

It’s been a while since I posted any updates to this blog, 2009 was a busy year both at work and at home.

For those of you who follow me on Twitter (@leonward) you may know of the great-crash of 2009. I’m not talking about Wall St here, I’m talking about when the front of my house met a car that somehow managed to drive off a straight road, across my neighbours garden, bounced off my wife’s car, and ended up partly in my lounge. At the time many people requested pictures and more info (“pics or it didn’t happen” springs to mind) but due to insurance claims and the police being involved I thought it best to keep things off the internet at the time.

As things are now on their way to being sorted out and yes, it has taken a while, I thought it safe to share a few of the pics of the carnage. Looking on the bright(er) side of things, at least we hadn’t completed the  decorating / remodelling of the room (hence the awful original curtains, woodwork colour, no carpet etc).  I also purchased a new amp and speaker package three days previous, but the shop didn’t have one of the items in stock so I didn’t pick it up. If it had come home with me the sub-woofer and a couple of speakers would have been a right-off. Annoyingly the re-plastering and painting of the walls was only completed two days before the crash.

So enjoy some Shadenfreude.

Written by leonward

January 6, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Posted in Fail, Home Cinema

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leon,
    My neighbors kid drove his car through the front of my house 2 years ago. I don’t know of “Misery Loves Company” would constitute Shadenfreude. Were you able to match the replacement brick and mortar without any trouble?
    Mark

    MarkB

    January 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    • Yeah, they did a good job of brick re-use where possible. They had to rebuild the whole bay and so distributed new bricks to prevent a whole block of different colour.

      I’m still waiting for the plastering to be done, I guess the snow and Christmas has slowed things down. The important thing is that nobody was hurt.

      leonward

      January 7, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  2. I know that sucks, but it’s funny. I had a tree fall down on my house when I lived in Georgia. That sucked too. Funny now that I look back at it.

    joel

    January 7, 2010 at 1:46 am

  3. Ouch,

    You do not see that everyday. Was someone drinking too much ?

    jay

    January 9, 2010 at 6:42 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 783 other followers

